thumb orlojI

The biggest wooden statue in Slovakia is situated in Stará Bystrica. It figures the sitting Virgin Mary - the patron of Slovakia. Several architects, carvers, technicians, builders, stonemasons from Slovakia and the Czech Republic participated in the process of its construction.

thumb Jelitov 2

The wooden chapel in Staškov - Jelitov was built as early as 1888. In 1937 it was replaced by a brick chapel, which has been serving to the believers up to now. The chapel is dedicated to the mother of the Virgin Mary – St. Ann, who is also the patron of mothers, wives and advocate for being blessed and for giving birth to a healthy baby. All of this carries certain symbolism.

Dom Hunčíkovcov - kópiaThe house and estate of Š. Hunčík is a unique example of combining knowledge and experience gained during experience with the local folk tradition. Hunčík family members call this house the “Old Room”. The name comes from the fact that in the past the house only had one room. The “Old Room” house was built by Š. Hunčík in 1872 after he had wandered throughout the whole Monarchy.

KostolThe Parish Church of the Assumption of Virgin Mary, built in 1757 – 1759 in late Barocco style, is the most significant sacral building in Turzovka, it is registered in the list of national cultural monuments. It is a single-nave building with a sanctuary designed polygonally and with a tower built a bit in front of the church. It has a barrel vault with lunettes supported by arch rings converging into pillar columns. The altars date from around 1747; and the current altarpieces come from the 19th century. Similarly, other church features - tabernacle, statues of the Saints, pulpit or baptistery come from the same period. The altarpiece of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, 14 Stations of the Cross and probably the picture of the Rosary Virgin Mary too are the work of Jozef Božetech Klemens, a famous Slovak artist.

1. Čadca - Kostol sv. Bartolomeja - kópiaBuilt in 1734 on the place of a former wooden church, the baroque church of St. Bartholomew in the centre of Čadca is the oldest preserved church in upper Kysuce. The church is a national cultural monument. It is a single-nave building with a sanctuary radial gate and a tower built a bit in front of the church. It is covered with a barrel vault with lunettes, converging into pillar columns.

SkalitéThe design of Calvary in Skalité was prepared by Jozef Fürst from Čadca, a bricklayer master, in June 1940. The Calvary was completed and the surrounding terrain was treated in August 1941. The biggest credit for building the chapels of the Calvary of Virgin Mary of Seven Sorrows goes to Peter Černo – a local parish administrator, Jozef Časnocha-Mikš - a governmental commissioner (mayor of the village); a committee chairman and Koloman Horniš from Kysucké Nové Mesto – a Slovak assembly member and honorary committee chairman. Seven relief pictures with dimensions 125 x 195 cm depict the seven sorrows of the Virgin Mary.

kastiel01The site where the manor-house is built, was purchased at the beginning of the 20th century by Prussian junker earl Ballestrem from the former owner Arnold Popper. The new owner had the manor house built in 1910 - 1913 on his plot as a hunting lodge and established a forest park with area over 3 ha next to the house. The whole area was fenced. The building has two wings, two floors, it is centrally symmetric, oriented east to west lengthwise.

kostol02Calvary in Oščadnica was built by believers from Oščadnica as gratitude for the fact that all the inhabitants survived the World War II and that no tragedy hit the village in spite of fierce battles fought for a whole month in Veľká Rača in 1945. The land under Calvary was given for free by the co-owners. The construction of Calvary started in 1946 with preparation work, such as transportation of materials and excavation of pathways.

09After 1989 the Bishop’s Office in Nitra received many requests from believers asking for a chapel to be built on Živčáková. In 1992 the Bishop’s Office in Nitra approved the requests and during the following year a Chapel of Virgin Mary, the Queen of Heaven was built on Živčáková Hill. The design was prepared by Ing. arch. Marián Goč.