Dom Hunčíkovcov - kópiaThe house and estate of Š. Hunčík is a unique example of combining knowledge and experience gained during experience with the local folk tradition. Hunčík family members call this house the “Old Room”. The name comes from the fact that in the past the house only had one room. The “Old Room” house was built by Š. Hunčík in 1872 after he had wandered throughout the whole Monarchy.

In 1868 he established a tinker workshop in Moscow, where his family used to live occasionally. After the Great October Revolution, the workshop was nationalised by the Bolshevik government. The “Old Room” is a standalone house situated on the southern slope. The walls are built from coniferous logs treated from both sides using log-cabin technology. Space between the logs is filled with moss and covered with clay. At present the house has a facing made of planed laths. The house has a saddle roof. The roof gables have small hips that extend to one fourth of the space. The main entrance is covered with a suspension saddle roof. The original roof was covered by shingles, now it is covered with a metal sheet. A Sculpture of Christ Crucified is placed in a small niche in the gable. As regards the ground-plan, the house was divided into three parts: a corridor called “pitvor”, room and larder. During the period in-between the wars the largest room had been used as a shop and a pub. The farming part of the estate, built in an L-shape prevailingly of stones, included the “cow’s kitchen” (the place where feed for the cattle was prepared). A wooden workshop called “varštak” and hayloft were in the northern part. The buildings have a closed yard, which was a rare feature for Kysuce.

 

Contact:

Obecný úrad Vysoká nad Kysucou, Ústredie 215, 023 55 Vysoká nad Kysucou, +421 (0)41 436 11 01, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., www.vysokanadkysucou.sk

 

Access: The settlement of Vrchrieka is accessible by a mountain road from the village of Vysoká nad Kysucou, from the pub “u Arnolda” or by a mountain trail from the settlement Semeteš.